Mini Update

I’ve been sick with a cold these last few days, so I’ve been a little out of it, but I’ll fill you in as best I can.

Today is day 6 on antibiotics, and no changes.  I’m not expecting miracles, and patience is my middle name, so on we go.  Today at Jackson’s playgroup, another Behaviorist came to observe Jackson.  The Behaviorist that observed today is the same one who will come interview me on Tuesday.  She was there the whole 2 hours and I’m sure saw how much help Jackson needs.  I’m very interested to hear all the report summaries at Jackson’s IEP on Friday.  At this point, Jackson is very low functioning and needs one-on-one assistance for everything.

Tomorrow is the Autism Speaks walk in San Jose.  Jackson’s ABA therapists raised a lot of money (enough to reach VIP status!) for the walk, so Jackson and I are excited to support the cause tomorrow.  Other than the walk, I’m hoping to rest a bit for the crazy week ahead:  Jackson’s pediatrician (TB test), biofeedback tests, last week of ABA therapy with our amazingly awesome therapists, school district assessment, LLMD appointment, IEP, and best of all, JACKSON”S BIRTHDAY!!!  I can’t believe we’ll have a 3 year old!

3 thoughts on “Mini Update

  1. I agree with Debbie, six days isn’t long enough to start working; most antibiotics don’t start “helping” (i.e. showing signs of recovery from any typical infection, such as strep throat) until you’ve reached the 1500mg mark. I’m guessing Jackson is on a small dosage (like Peyton), so it’ll take quite some time to reach 1500. You’re doing an amazing job! You’re a superhero!!

    • Thanks Debbie and Leslie! I am an Antibiotic rookie…I know nothing about them since I never had to deal with them. Jackson takes 4ml of Amoxicillin 3 times a day 4 x 3 = 12, plus 3 ml of Zithromax. Let me do the math…15ml a day of antibiotics. 1500 divided by 15 = 100. Around 100 days, or 3ish months. Alright, keep on going! Thanks for your support!

Leave a Reply

