Jackson Update

Let’s get back to what’s really important here: Jackson:)  Today, while Jackson was at his Speech Therapy, I just paused and thought to myself, thank you.  I am so thankful we have this awful diagnosis of Lyme Disease.  Had we continued down the autism path, Jackson would only have deteriorated. He would never have spoken a work, or progressed even with all the best therapists in the world.  The Lyme Disease and co infections would have continued to hit Jackson neurologically, physically, and in every other negative way imaginable.  It scares and saddens me to know of so many other kids out there misdiagnosed like Jackson, heading down a dead end path.

Jackson continues to do great taking his meds.  He takes everything like a champ, including his MB12 shot.  He’s still not speaking or making any new sounds, but he has made small, noticeable changes:

*The past week or so, he hasn’t been wanting to nap.  Jackson’s always been a great sleeper, 8pm-7am with a 2 hour nap in between.  This past week, he has been content during the day without a nap, still going down easily by 8pm.

*Jackson’s eye contact has improved.

*Yesterday, he pointed for the first time.  John was working on a cube puzzle with Jackson, and Jackson pointed to the star shape and then pointed to the slot where the star should go in.

*When his water bottle is empty and he wants more, Jackson will bring me his bottle and direct me to the sink for me to fill it up.

*I haven’t heard teeth grinding for a few days.

Jackson has always been an amazing little boy.  Here are some of the things I love about him.  He’s always been good at puzzles, loves digging his hands into the bean box, loves jumping on the trampoline, swinging on swings,  going in the hot tub, running around outside, picking up dirt, getting squeezed/hugs, reading books, watching movies (Little Mermaid, Despicable Me, Toy Story, Tangled, Princess and the Frog), snuggling his blankie (he has a special corner he puts up to his nose and sniffs), watching bubbles float, watching the trees blow in the wind, drinking his water, eating his (small amounts of) banana and strawberries, following his sister.

I can’t wait to add onto this list.  I know there’s so much inside of Jackson that he wants to get out and tell us, and those days are ahead.  Every day is really exciting for me to interact with and observe Jackson.  I’m not expecting miracles anytime soon, I can be patient.  I feel like a child, looking forward to her birthday, everyday asking, “is it here yet?  Is today the day?”  I’m so thankful have the correct diagnosis, a capable LLMD, the means to go through the treatment, and a willing boy to take the meds and keep his amazing, positive attitude through it all.

 

2 thoughts on “Jackson Update

  1. Such great news! Those small changes are so important and there are many more to come. Stay strong and positive cause you’re doing awesome with Jackie! Lots of love! =]

  2. I haven’t had a chance to read your blog this week, so I’m catching up now. These seem like great little changes for Jackson! Keep watching! Have you thought of having a small garden for him to work in? If he likes dirt (boys!) me may enjoy planting something and watching something grow… maybe something he may enjoy eating! Keep up the good, postive work… it will pay off!

Leave a Reply

